Tags

, , , ,

A couple of days ago while wandering around blogs, I came across someone mentioning a manga called Arisa by Natsumi Ando.  I don’t want to go too in depth about Arisa right now because technically it has nothing to do with this post other than that events occurring while reading Arisa inspired me to write this.  What events you ask?  One word: CLIFFHANGER!

Cliffhangers are definitely something that everyone should have come across at some point in their life.  For people who enjoy anime and manga, we might come across cliffhangers a lot more than most simply due to the fact that anime and manga come out in installments.  Now, I don’t know about you guys, but cliffhangers annoy me to the point where I usually have this face going on:

I encountered one of these moments while reading Arisa and let me tell you, it was that moment, the one you KNOW is coming, but when it happens, NO MORE MANGA TO READ!  Then the face happened and yeah, well, the rest is history.  After my face calmed down, I ruminated for a bit about the annoyance of cliffhangers and then I realized that there is something worse than cliffhangers!  That is…WHR, which is short for Where the Hell is the Rest?!

Now, WHR can result from a lot of things because as much as I want to hope that the authors of fantastic stories have no lives and do nothing but pen more awesomeness, that is not the case.  I don’t know how common hiatuses are in terms of actual published material, but I have had one encounter with it and I am still irritated by it.

Everyone, say hello to Ragnarok, a manhwa by Myung-Jin Lee!  The man in the picture is the main character for this story and his name is Chaos.  He is a very strong warrior who lacks memories of the past two years.  As you probably guessed, Ragnarok follows Chaos’ journey as his past is slowly revealed and as he goes along he picks up his own merry band of friends.  In a very brief plot summary like this one, Ragnarok really doesn’t seem to be anything special, but it is.

The artwork in Ragnarok is phenomenal!  It is hands down some of the best artwork I have seen in terms of manhwa/manga format!  Every page is so full of detail and textures that it really makes you wonder why more people can’t flesh out their artwork this well.  If I were to be honest, I would have to say that the art in Ragnarok is better than some of the artwork I have seen that were made specifically to be published in an art book compilation.

While the art is something to be dazzled by, the story itself is definitely not going to be outdone by it.  Ragnarok is, unsurprisingly, based off of Norse mythology.  Based off of the manhwa’s name, I figured that out easily, so I was expecting it, but I wasn’t expecting the sheer amount of Norse mythology references buried within it.  I was expecting someone with the name Odin and maybe a mention or two of Loki, but Ragnarok really went all out.  Not only did it have Odin and Loki, it also had Valkyries, Freya, Jotunheim, Midgard, Asgard, Fenrir, and Yggdrasil to name a few and most of them were pretty true to the originals in Norse mythology, so they didn’t just get the name Fenrir and thus were cool.  This little tidbit may not mean much to most people, but to someone like me who loves mythology, it was enough to make me love this manhwa even more!

Unfortunately, Ragnarok is still on hiatus and has been in that state for…at least 6 years.  There are currently 10 volumes and according to Wikipedia, Ragnarok is supposed to have 40+ volumes.  Suffice it to say, I have no hopes of this series going out of its hiatus state because honestly, 6 years, probably more, is a hell of a long break and with the sheer scale of detail and story that lies within Ragnarok, I think it is going to be hard for Myung-Jin Lee to get back into the swing of things.  Unless, he has the plot all nicely written out…haha, well, I can dream.

Even though Ragnarok is currently not being updated, I would still highly recommend it to anyone!  It is a beautiful piece of work, both in art and story.  Be warned though, big breasts are…revered in this manhwa.

Also, has anyone ever encountered this happening to them, that something they really wanted to finish just…stopped?  I’m curious!

